Embrace The Real You

We have all experienced it at one point in time in life. We have all had those insecure moments something just wasn’t what you desired it to be. Whether it is your skin, weight, clothes, hair even your personality may not have been what you wanted, but something about you has always been admired by someone. Each and everyone of us can find something about someone else that we love and they may hate. It’s amazing how we all have been uniquely created in the image of God which is Great and Beautiful. Which means we all have something great and beautiful about ourselves. Somethings we can change or improve in a healthy manner, other things aren’t worth it and need to be embraced.¬†Somethings are meant to be just the way God created it to be, even if it isn’t that great to us.

img_2734

Let’s take me for example, I love my legs they have always been thick and strong. Being a dancer since the age of 3 has giving me a great and graceful stride. I love the shape of my calves¬†and I am bowlegged which is a hint of my mother and paternal grandmother. I have a fat stomach which can be changed with a healthier diet and exercise, it goes up and down, because hey, let’s be real I like to eat. I still actively dance which forces me to be active and not just sit eat and be obese and sick. I have never really thought I had a cool personality but some people gravitate to me and love being around me. It’s some people I always thought were so cool have these magnetic personalities and I wanted to be like them. It’s some people who were cool with the real me and when they saw me trying to be like someone else they became less of a friend and more of an associate. That was definitely a growing process for me. I was always trying to be like someone else and not staying 100% to myself. Yet, the older I get the more I learn me and the more I embrace who I am, and embrace those who like me. Now as for those who don’t like me I don’t worry about.

I hope me being transparent allows you to look at yourself and find something that you love and embrace about yourself. I also hope you can find one thing that you can change and improve in a healthy manner. Last but not least one thing that you struggled with embracing but others already liked about you. It’s all about being true to yourself and not questioning if you are like someone else but questioning if you are being yourself.

